The iconic Sting announces details for new album, 'The Bridge'

The iconic Sting announces details for new album, 'The Bridge'

Grammy Award winning musician Sting has announced his new album 'The Bridge', which will be released on 19 November 2021.

Universal Music Group
When it comes to icons, Sting will always be one of the names that will always be top of mind. 

The Bridge displays Sting’s prolific and different songwriting prowess, with this new set of songs serving styles and genres explored all over his unrivaled career. The lead track “If It’s Love” premiered nowadays on BBC Radio 2 and is accessible now on all digital platforms.

Read more: ABBA teases a huge announcement ahead of their new project 

Sting likens contemplating his romantic feelings to calling the doctor about his symptoms.

The Bridge was written in a year that saw the world experience a global pandemic. In this album, Sting ruminates on personal loss, separation, disruption, lockdown, and the extraordinary social and political turmoil the world has experienced in the past year.

Read more: Special Edition release of Let It Be by The Beatles 

“bridge”  represents the enduring and the ever-evolving link between ideas, cultures, continents, and even the banks of a river. It’s also a route into the past.

You can find out more about the highly-anticipated album on Sting's

Here's the tracklisting for the album:

  1. Rushing Water
  2. If It’s Love
  3. The Book of Numbers
  4. Loving You
  5. Harmony Road
  6. For Her Love
  7. The Hills on the Border
  8. Captain Bateman
  9. The Bells of St. Thomas
  10. The Bridge
  11. Waters of Tyne   (Deluxe bonus track)
  12. Captain Bateman’s Basement  (Deluxe bonus track)
  13. (Sittin’ on) The Dock of the Bay (Deluxe bonus track)
  14. *(Japanese exclusive bonus track)
  15. I Guess the Lord Must Be in New York City 

Read more: Legendary Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts passes away aged 80 

For loads of fantastic 60s, 70s and 80s classics, listen to East Coast Gold via the ECR app or here. We’re also on various other platforms, including Alexa (just enable the ‘East Coast Gold’ skill); MyTuner, Radio Garden;, Radioline or OpenRadio.

Who's on-air when?

Gordon Graham, weekdays 6-10am and Sundays 2-6pm.
Jane Linley-Thomas, weekdays 10am-1 pm.
Damon Beard, weekdays 1-5pm.
Dave Guselli, weekdays 5-9pm and Saturdays, 2-6pm.
Guy McDonald, weekends 6-10am.
Alex Jay, Saturdays 10am – 2pm.
Jill Stewart, Sundays 10am - 2pm.

Main image attribution: Universal Music Group

Show's Stories