Sharks name strong squad for Pumas clash

Sharks name strong squad for Pumas clash

Despite the current COVID-19 crisis at the Cell C Sharks, Sean Everitt has named a strong match-day 23 for their opening Black Label Currie Cup match against the Pumas at Jonsson Kings Park on Friday night.

Thomas du Toit

Fortunately for the Sharks the backline remains intact from their last game, a victory against Griquas in Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked, with Curwin Bosch and Sanele Nohamba in the side at flyhalf and scrumhalf respectively.

There is just one change in the backline with Manie Libbok coming back into the starting XV for the injured Anthony Volmink.

“Anthony has suffered an AC injury which will keep him out of action for a period of time,” Sharks coach Everitt said.

“There are a number of changes on the bench, Khwezi Mona comes in on a rotational basis and we have given SA Under 20 tighthead prop Hanro Jacobs his first opportunity for the Sharks due to the unavailability of a few tightheads.

“Sikhumbuzo Notshe returns after isolation protocols while SA Sevens player Zain Davids who has been with us for some time gets an opportunity off the bench. He’s shown a lot of promise at training.

“Finally Sbu Nkosi fulfills a role off the bench after being forced to miss training while awaiting results of a routine Covid test.”

The Sharks welcome back Thomas du Toit which couldn't come soon enough given the current situation with the props. 

Amongst the forwards the Sharks are without loose forwards James and Henco Venter as well as Phepsi Buthelezi, this has forced the coach to change things up with JJ van der Mescht starting on the side of the scrum on Friday.

“JJ van der Mescht adds bulk to our pack and we believe that he has the necessary skill set to excel in that position. It is an experiment to see how he goes in the absence of players like Henco Venter and Phepsi Buthelezi.

“He partners Thembelani Bholi at number eight while Dylan Richardson continues in the open side role where he has played very well over the last few weeks and deserves to retain his place on the side of the scrum.”

Kick off at Jonsson Kings Park on Friday is at 19:00.

Sharks: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Thembelani Bholi, 7 JJ van der Mescht, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements: 16 Daniel Jooste, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Hanro Jacobs, 19 Zain Davids, 20 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Werner Kok, 23 Sbu Nkosi.


Show's Stories