Sharks forced into changes for Kimberley trip

Sharks forced into changes for Kimberley trip

With one positive COVID-19 test amongst the squad and two other players in isolation the Cell C Sharks were forced into a number of changes for their Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked match against the Griquas in Kimberley on Friday.

Jeremy Ward

The side's announcement was delayed by 24 hours due to the test results being delayed and the squad also needed to be rejigged. Despite the loss of a number of players the coach Sean Everitt is still confident that he has a strong group to do duty in the Northern Cape.

"We didn't have a lot of contact in the early part of the week which reduced the amount of contact players had with the positive player," Everitt said. "One of the players was going to start and the other two were going to be on the bench so that's not too many in the bigger scheme of things.

"We have been rotating our squad and the guys have been getting ample game time so that will be an advantage for us."

Former Sharks scrumhalf Cameron Wright was a late addition to the squad last week and with some injuries in the scrumhalf position he's been given a slot in the squad in 2021. This comes after his contract at the Southern Kings was terminated due to financial reasons.

"Last week we lost both Grant Williams and Jaden Hendrickse to injury. It's not often you have two scrumhalves injured in the same week and Cameron was in Durban so we called him up and have added him to the squad until the end of January.

"It's great that he can help us out and visa versa."

In the changes for the Sharks in the forward pack Kerron van Vuuren comes into the starting line up along with Ruben van Heerden, James Venter and Thembelani Bholi.

Madosh Tambwe is another change amongst the backs and Anthony Volmink will get his first cap for the Sharks at fullback.

Jeremy Ward will take up the captaincy of the Sharks side for their match.

Khwezi Mona, who was also recently added to the Sharks squad, is line for his Sharks debut off the bench on Friday.

Cell C Sharks

1. Ox Nche, 2. Kerron van Vuuren, 3. John-Hubert Meyer, 4. Ruben van Heerden, 5. Hyron Andrews, 6. James Venter, 7. Thembelani Bholi, 8. Phepsi Buthelezi, 9. Sanele Nohamba, 10. Curwin Bosch, 11. Madosh Tambwe, 12. Marius Louw, 13. Jeremy Ward (C), 14. Yaw Penxe, 15. Anthony Volmink*


16. Daniel Jooste, 17. Mzamo Majola, 18. Khwezi Mona*, 19. JJ van der Mescht, 20. Dylan Richardson, 21. Cameron Wright, 22. Manie Libbok, .23. Sbu Nkosi


Show's Stories