Bosch to lead Sharks against Stormers

Bosch to lead Sharks against Stormers

Cell C Sharks head coach Neil Powell has named Curwin Bosch as the captain of the team to face the DHL Stormers in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship on Saturday.

Curwin Bosch Champions Cup

Bosch will take the captaincy into the match with regular captain Phepsi Buthelezi on the bench and the coach explained that it's not a change in the overall leadership.

"With Phepsi on the bench it doesn't mean that he loses the captaincy, he is still the captain," Powell said. "Curwin will be the field captain until Phepsi gets onto the field and it's because of our rotational policy as Phepsi has started the last five games and (Sikhumbuzo) Notshe has been on the bench.

"We moved Phepsi to the bench because he's started five in a row and Notshe needed a start."

The Sharks go into the clash with a reworked front row as Dian Bleule and Fez Mbatha come into the starting XV. Hanro Jacobs starts again after being a late replacement for Carlü Sadie last week.

"We wouldn't have selected that front row if we didn't think that they could do the job for us. It's a young front row but they bring that energy and that fight that we are looking for in the game.

"It also means that we have some experience on the bench so we are happy with the make-up of our front row."

The Stormers attacked the Sharks front row in the previous meeting at Hollywoodbets Kings Park and Powell believes that they have learnt a lot from that outing.

"They were spart to target our scrums and make it difficult for us there and it won't be a surprise this week as to what they will bring.

"Hopefully the front row and the pack of forwards will give us more stability in the set phases," Powell added.

Emile van Heerden starts at lock in place of Reniel Hugo while Henco Venter comes in for Dylan Richardson.

There are two changes in the backline with Aphelele Fassi starting on the wing in place of Thaakir Abrahams and Marnus Potgieter will start at outside centre.

The Sharks are currently in seventh place on the URC log and a win will boost their chances of a play-off spot.

Saturday’s clash kicks off at 2.30pm.

Cell C Sharks

1 Dian Bleuler, 2 Fez Mbatha, 3 Hanro Jacobs, 4 Emile van Heerden, 5 Gerbrandt Grobler, 6 Henco Venter, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 9 Grant Williams, 10 Curwin Bosch (c), 11 Aphelele Fassi, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 13 Marnus Potgieter, 14 Werner Kok, 15 Boeta Chamberlain.


16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Ntuthuko Mchunu, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Jeandre Labuschagne, 20 James Venter, 21 Phepsi Buthelezi, 22 Cameron Wright, 23 Yaw Penxe.



Show's Stories