Visa-free travel to Russia for South Africans

Visa-free travel to Russia for South Africans

Another country's opened its doors to visa-free travel for South Africans.

South African passport

From the beginning of next month, South Africans travelling to Russia for leisure will not have to apply for visas. 

ALSO READ: SA 'respects New Zealand's visa rule'

The agreement between SA and Russia now means we have visa-free visa upon arrival, or electronic-free travel authorisation access to more than 90 countries. 

Holiday-makers travelling to Russia without the intention of working, studying or living in the country - will be free from visa requirements, and can enter, stay or transit through the country without a visa - for up to 90 days. 

Global passport ranking website, Passport Index, had given SA a visa-free score of 90 - before the Russian deal was announced.

Other countries we can travel to without visas include Argentina, Brazil, Ireland and Swaziland - amongst others.

Show's Stories