Nine parties vote for secret ballot

Nine parties vote for secret ballot

Nine out of 13 political parties have identified their preferred voting procedure for the motion of no confidence in President Jacob Zuma. 

Secret ballot vote
Photo: GCIS

Parties had until the close of business on Friday to submit their preferences - for or against the use of a secret ballot - to National Assembly Speaker Baleka Mbete.  

The Constitutional Court ruled in June that Mbete has the power to decide on whether a secret ballot should be used.  

Parliamentary spokesperson, Moloto Mathapo says out of the nine submissions - two said they would abide by the decision of the Speaker.

"Of those nine, the ANC and the DA have indicated that they will abide by the decision of the Speaker while the rest of the remaining parties that submitted indicated that they prefer the motion to be done by way of a secret ballot. The Speaker has expressed appreciation for all the parties," he said. 

Meanwhile, a political analyst feels the SACP’s decision to contest future elections divorced from the ANC could be a temporary threat. 

Protas Madlala says the SACP isn't against the ANC but rather angry at President Jacob Zuma.

"Maybe things will change after December if Zuma does step down in. It seems the main gripe is around the president and the Gupta association," he said. 

The party made the announcement at the conclusion of its 14th national congress in Boksburg at the weekend.  

Show's Stories