MPs reject no-confidence motion in Mapisa-Nqakula

MPs reject no-confidence motion in Mapisa-Nqakula

The National Assembly has rejected a no-confidence motion against Speaker Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula. 

EFF caucus in Parliament

The vote to remove the speaker was initiated by EFF leader Julius Malema in response to members of his party being ordered to leave the chamber during the State of the Nation Address in February.


Mapisa-Nqakula called in security services when some EFF members stormed the stage. 


On Wednesday 234 MPs voted against the motion to have the speaker removed, saying she acted in accordance with the rules of parliament. 


Parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo says there were 42 votes in support of the motion. 

 READ: ANC justifies deployment of army during national shutdown

"The EFF had complained to the committee of the multilateral body of world parliaments, and the matter was heard in its meeting in Bahrain last week. 

"The committee was persuaded by the speaker’s account of the proceedings of that day, which factually disproved the allegations in the EFF complaint, which included the false claim that the speaker referred to the EFF MPs as animals." 


"The speaker has appreciated the debate on the motion against her, as it did not only strengthen democratic engagement and accountability but also helped her to learn from constructive criticism where it was made.
newswatch new banner 2


Show's Stories