Govt revises list of high-risk Covid-19 countries

Govt revises list of high-risk Covid-19 countries

The South African government has revised its list of high-risk countries, adding tourists from seven countries to the banned list. 

COVID-19 airport travel generic

The tourists from seven countries, which include Germany, Italy and Spain, will no longer be able to visit South Africa due to their respective Covid-19 infection rates.

The Department of Home Affairs published its revised list on Monday.

Its overall list has been whittled down to 22, down from the original 57 countries.

"In its last meeting, the cabinet instructed the Ministers of Health, Home Affairs and Tourism to lead a process to review the list. 

"The review of the list of high-risk countries was done in such a way that it strikes a balance between saving lives and protecting livelihoods," Home Affairs spokesperson Siya Qoza said in a statement. 

READ: Abahlali on evictions: 'The state does not treat us like people'

Qoza added that the list does not apply to business travellers or others who are not travelling for leisure, including diplomats and sportspeople.

"In addition, we recognise that there are a number of regular visitors from mainly European countries that have been accustomed to long periods of visitation to our country during our summer season when it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere. Most of them own properties in the country. 

"We appreciate the significant economic contribution that they make through their activities in the country. To this end, we will also allow visitors, in whichever category, who are coming to stay for a three-month period or more subject to Covid-19 protocols," said Qoza. 

New Newswatch podcast banner red

Show's Stories