Durban residents warned of 18-hour water shutdown

Durban residents warned of 18-hour water shutdown

The shutdown at the Durban Heights Water Treatment plant, which was postponed last week, will begin at 1am on Tuesday.

water tap

uMngeni-uThukela Water says the planned maintenance is part of efforts to repair infrastructure damaged during last year's floods. 


The utility's Siyabonga Maphumulo says the shutdown should last until 8pm that evening.


"This is to allow for the removal of a steel plate that was previously installed on Aqueduct 2 to isolate the flow of water while repairs were in progress.


"The shutdown will also include the installation of a double isolation facility to enable the contractor undertaking the repairs to continue working on the Aqueduct in preparation for its recommissioning in December this year. 


"By undertaking this maintenance shutdown now, uMngeni-uThukela aims to minimise the possibility of bulk water interruptions ahead of the start of the busy festive season."


Maphumulo says some residents and businesses will experience low water pressure and water cuts. 


"To minimise this impact, we urge the public to use water sparingly and delay activities that consume additional water, such as the washing of cars, watering gardens or filling up swimming pools during this time."


The below areas will be affected: 


1. Northern Aqueduct Supplied Reservoirs and Areas

Aloes Reservoir HL Zone


Court Town Place • Pomegranate Road • Avocado grove • Tiger Lily Place • Quartz Place • Street 128844 • Shale Place • Sandstone Road • Ridge Place • Whinstone Grove • Centre Place • Forest close • Street 128845 • Street 120847 • Street 120848 • Street 120851 • Street 12052


Phoenix 1 Reservoir HL zone:

Bishop gate road • Pillar gate place • Landsgate Place • Risegate place • Restgate road 


Mount Moriah Phoenix 6 Reservoir HL zone:

Simunye Avenue • Eleka Road • Mount Moriah Drive • Zwela Street • Mela street • Zinza Place • Rainbow Street • Umkhutu Place 


Kwa Mashu 1 Reservoir HL zone:

Siyanda area • Sections K, J, L, M, F,G,P,H,N Kwa Mashu 


Kwa Mashu 2 Reservoir HL zone :

Siyanda Area • A, B, C, D, E, F, G Sections KwaMashu


Kwa Mashu 3 Reservoir zone & Kwa Mashu 3 HL zone:

Kwa Mashu L & N sections 


Ntuzuma Reservoir 7 zone HL & LL zone: 

Ntuzuma A, B, F, C sections • Richmond farm 


Newlands 1 Reservoir HL zone: 

Castlehill • Westridge • Part of Elsfield drive 


Newlands 3 Reservoir HL zone:

Section of Newlands East 


Effingham Reservoir zone:

Effingham high level area in the vicinity of the reservoir site 


Mountview Reservoir zone: 

Brindhavan Mountview south ridge Parkgate and riet river


Trenance 1 Reservoir zone:

Dawncrest • Oaklands • Suriya heights • Sarna township • Riet river & Mountview High level Trenance 3 Elevated tower zone • Tea estate • Groenberg farm • D57002 road • Buffelsdraai • Hilltop drive • Redcliffe temple area • Madronna drive • Bottle brush drive • Celtic drive • Valley view drive • Amouti 


Phoenix 2 Reservoir zone: 

Sunford • Hannaford • Phoenix highway • Longcroft • Longbury • Plaza • Southbury • Eastbury • Grove end • Sastri park • Caneside • Canehaven • Woodview


Ambleside reservoir zone:

La Lucia • La Lucia Mall • Glenashley 


Beachway reservoir zone: 

Beachway • Durban North • Glenashley 


Sea Cow Lake reservoir zone: 

Sea Cow Lake • Parlock • Springfield Industrial • Riverside • Kenville • Newlands East


Phoenix 5 reservoir zone: 

Woodview • Cornubia • Ottawa • Palmview • Trenance Park 


Sunningdale reservoir and Tower: 

Sunningdale • La Lucia and Mall • Glenashly • Glen Anil • Somerset • Umhlanga • La Lucia Ridge


Gateway reservoir zone: 

Gateway Inlet 


Umhlanga 2 reservoir zone:

Umhlanga area • Umhlanga Ridge • Prestondale • Ilala Ridge • Hawaan Etates • Umhlanga Manors • Blackburn village 


Umhlanga North Reservoir zone: 

Umhlanga CBD


2. Southern Aqueduct Supplied Reservoirs and Areas


Northdene 1&2 Reservoir zone: 

Northdene, Queensburgh, Malvern


Northdene 3 PS:

Klaawwater, Savanah Park, Nagina, Kwasanti, Mawelewele, Demat, Parts of Nagina, Luganda, Intake Road


Chatsworth 1 Reservoir zone: 



Chatsworth 2 Reservoir zone:



Chatsworth 3 Reservoir zone:



Chatsworth 4 Reservoir zone:

Welbedagt East, Welbedatch West, Montford, Risecliffe, Arena Park, Moorton, Crossmoor, Woodhurst, Shallcross


Klaarwater Reservoir zone:



Harinager (Reservoir has 48 hours sufficient storage no outages expected)


Firwood 1&2 


Ridley Park (Reservoir has 48 hours sufficient storage no outages expected)


Westcliff (Reservoir has 48 hours sufficient storage no outages expected)


Umlazi 2 Res zone:

Umlazi H, J, C, P,N, W, G, N,F sections


Umlazi 1 Res zone:

Umlazi A,B,C,D,E,T,S,V sections


Umlazi 1A Res zone:



Umlazi 3 Res zone:

Umlazi Sections J,K,L


Umlazi 4 Res zone

Umlazi Sections A-A, Z, Q, U, Y, Malukazi


Umlazi 5 Res zone:

Umlazi Sections Z, A-A, B-B


Umlazi 6 Res zone:

Umlazi CC


Ensimbini 1 Res zone:

Nsimbini, Golkodo


Folweni 1 Res zone:



Folweni 2 Res zone:



3. Pinetown South Supplied Reservoirs and areas


St Wendolin’s PS

Kwasanti, Savanah Park


Whashington Heights Res zone:



Intake road Res zone:

Demat, Welbedatch West, Luganda, Intake road, Mawelewele


4. Southern Aqueduct, Westville Reservoirs & Supplied Areas (Intermittent supply)


Salisbury Reservoir zone:

Westville East, Pavillion, Westwood


Lea Drive Reservoir zone:

Westville Central


Dawncliffe Reservoir zone:



Mountain Ridge Reservoir zone:

Westville North

newswatch new banner 1

Show's Stories