Cabinet reshuffle: Kgosientsho Ramokgopa new electricity minister, Mashatile deputy president

Cabinet reshuffle: Kgosientsho Ramokgopa new electricity minister, Mashatile deputy president

President Cyril Ramaphosa has appointed former Tshwane mayor Kgosientsho Ramokgopa as the new electricity minister.

Cyril Ramaphosa announces cabinet reshuffle

The appointment was announced by the president on Monday evening as part of a cabinet reshuffle. 

“The primary task of the new Minister will be to significantly reduce the severity and frequency of load shedding as a matter of urgency,” Ramaphosa explained.

“To effectively oversee the electricity crisis response, the appointed minister will have political responsibility, authority and control over all critical aspects of the Energy Action Plan. This will help to deal with the challenge of fragmentation of responsibility across various departments and ministers which, while appropriate under normal circumstances, is not conducive to a crisis response.

“The minister will be expected to facilitate the coordination of the numerous departments and entities involved in the crisis response, work with the Eskom leadership to turn around the performance of existing power stations, and accelerate the procurement of new generation capacity.”

As expected, ANC deputy president Paul Mashatile will move into the Union Buildings as successor to David Mabuza, who recently resigned as Ramaphosa’s second-in-command.  

The president has also created a second new ministry, with Maropene Ramokgopa the new Minister in the Presidency responsible for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation. 

“While this will result in an increase in the number of ministries in the short term, as indicated in the State of the Nation Address, I have instructed the Presidency and National Treasury to develop a proposal to rationalise government departments, entities and programmes to ensure greater efficiency,” Ramaphosa promised. 

Nathi Mthethwa, Lindiwe Sisulu and Maite Nkoana-Mashabane are all out in the cold, with Zizi Kodwa the new minister of sport, arts and culture, Patricia de Lille taking over the tourism portfolio and Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma moving to the Presidency as minister responsible for women, youth and persons with disabilities. 

Sindisiwe Chikunga is promoted from deputy minister of transport to minister in the same portfolio, as replacement for ANC secretary-general Fikile Mbalula. 

Former KZN premier Sihle Zikalala has also been handed a ministerial post, and will serve as minister of public works and infrastructure.


- Minister in the Presidency, Ms Khumbudzo Ntshavheni,

- Minister in the Presidency responsible for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities, Dr

Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma,

- Minister in the Presidency responsible for Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation, Ms Maropene Ramokgopa

- Minister in the Presidency responsible for Electricity, Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa,

- Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies, Mr Mondli Gungubele,

- Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, Ms Thembi Nkadimeng,

- Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Noxolo Kiviet,

- Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure, Mr Sihle Zikalala,

- Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture, Mr Zizi Kodwa,

- Minister of Tourism, Ms Patricia de Lille,

- Minister of Transport, Ms Sindisiwe Chikunga.

newswatch new banner 1


Show's Stories