South African Music Awards 2022: List of all the winners

South African Music Awards 2022: List of all the winners

Makhadzi has been trending at #1 on Twitter following her big win at the SAMAs!

Black Coffee Grammy nominations
Black Coffee Official Instagram

The country's biggest artist were honoured over the weekend at the South African Music Awards 28. 

The prestigious music event, which were hosted by Lawrence Maleka and Nandi Madida, took place at Sun City in North West. 

It was a two-day event, starting on Saturday. The Sunday part was broadcast on SABC 1. 

Some of the artists who got to perform included Master KG, Khuli Chana, and Mobi Dixon. 

Black Coffee was honoured with the International Achievement Award. The award comes after his Grammy win in April. 

Joe Nina, Jimmy Dludlu, and McCoy Mrubata were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Awards .

The Princess of Africa, Yvonne Chaka Chaka, received the Chairman’s Award. 

Makhadzi, who previously complained about the SAMAs when she was not nominated in 2021, won an award this year for Music Video of the Year for 'Ghanama' featuring Prince Benza. She has been trending on Twitter as #1 and the likes of Cassper Nyovest and Minister Fikile Mbalula congratulated her. 

READ: Master KG and Makhadzi left out of SAMA nomination list

See the full list of winners below. 

READ: Home intruder steals Zahara's SAMA trophies 

- SAMPRA Artist of the Year: Haksul Muziq

- Tecno Record of the Year: Musa Keys featuring Sir Trill and Nobantu Vilakazi – 'Vula Mlomo'

- Tecno Music Video of the Year: Makhadzi featuring Prince Benza – 'Ghanama'

- Album of the Year: Chymamusique – 'Musique'

- Female Artist of the Year: Msaki – 'Platinumb Heart Beating'

- Male Artist of the Year: Chymamusique – 'Musique'

- Newcomer of the Year: Khanyisile Mthethwa – 'African Bird'

- TikTok Viral Song of the Year: 9Umba, Toss and Mdoovar – 'Umlando'

- Best Duo/Group of the Year: Ama Roto (Reece Madlisa and Zuma)

- Best Amapiano Album: Young Stunna – 'Notumato'

- Best Rock Album: Springbok Nude Girls – 'Partypocalypse'

- Best Pop Album: Shekhinah – 'Trouble In Paradise'

- Beste Pop Album: Posduif – 'Niks Vergelyk'

- Best Adult Contemporary Album: Msaki – 'Platinumb Heart Open'

- Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album: Die Heuwels Fantasties – 'Volume'

- Best African Adult Contemporary Album: Mandisi Dyantyis: 'Cwaka'

- Best Alternative Album: Alice Phoebe Lou –  'Glow'

- Best R&B/Soul Album: Brian Temba – 'It’s All You'

- Best Hip-Hop Album: Blxckie – 'B4Now'

- Best Kwaito Album: Amaroto – 'Amaroto Vol.2'

- Best Dance Album: Cymamusique – 'Musique'

- Best Traditional Faith Album: Jumbo – 'Vela Nkosi'

- Best Contemporary Faith Album: Pulane Maphari – 'Sacrificial Worship (Live)'

- Best African Indigenous Faith Album: NUZ Voices of Joy – 'Simlapha Nkosi'

- Rest of Africa: Tems – 'If Orange Was A Place'

- Best Traditional Album: Dr Mercy Masakona Madzivhandila – 'Tshihwilili Tshanga'

- Best Maskandi Album: Thokozani Langa: 'Idayimani'

- Best Jazz Album: Jimmy Dludlu – 'History in a Frame'

- Best Classical/Instrumental Album: Khanyisila Mthetwa – 'African Bird'

- Best Afropop Album: Nomfundo Moh – 'Amagama'

- Best Collaboration: Zakes Bantwini featuring Kasango – 'Osama'

- Best Produced Music Video: Mabi Ntuli and Shona: Mobi Dixon featuring Mariechan and Jnr SA: 'When House Was House'

- Best Produced Album of the Year: Sean, Keanan Leroy & Arthur: The One Who Sings: 'Thetha Mama'

- Best Engineered Album of the Year: Peter Auret – Charl Du Plessis Trio: 'It Takes Three'

- Remix of the Year: Sun-El Musician, Azanza and Da Capo – 'Uhuru'

- Best Reggae Album: Reign Afrika – 'Trailblazer'

- Best Gqom Album: Dladla Mushunqisi – 'Umshunqo Reloaded'

- Lifetime Achievement Award: Jimmy Dludlu, Joe Nina and McCoy Mrubata

- International Achievement Award: Black Coffee

- Best Selling Artist: Young Stunna

- Most Streamed Song of the Year: Kabza De Small, DJ Maphorisa and Ami Faku: 'Abalele'

- SAMRO Composer Highest Airplay Award: Zakes Bantwini featuring Kasango – 'Osama'

- Chairman’s Award: Yvonne Chaka Chaka

READ: Lira celebrates SAMA nomination, shares health update

Image courtesy of Instagram. 

More From East Coast Radio

Follow us on social media:


Show's Stories