New details revealed about Jennifer Lopez's first album in nine years

New details revealed about Jennifer Lopez's first album in nine years

J.LO's new album has been described as "uplifting and inspiring". 

Jennifer Lopez
Jennifer Lopez / Instagram (@jlo)

Jennifer Lopez is gearing up for the release of her first solo album in almost a decade. 

Ahead of the album's release, the 'Love Don't Cost A Thing' singer has signed a new recording and publishing deal with international music company, BMG.

According to Billboard, J.LO's new album, 'This Is Me…Now', will be released via Nuyorican/BMG.

 'This Is Me…Now' is the follow-up to Jennifer's 2002 album, 'This Is Me... Then'.

"We are both excited and proud to partner with Jennifer Lopez on this long-awaited sequel to ‘This is Me… Then.’ Clearly written with love and through experience, ‘This Is Me...Now’ is uplifting and inspiring," Billboard quoted BMG president, Thomas Scherer, as saying. 

ALSO READ: Lionel Richie is peeved with Diana Ross over Beyoncé show

Ben Affleck-inspired album

Like its predecessor, 'This Is Me... Now' is inspired by her husband Ben Affleck. The couple were engaged when the original album was released. 

The tracklist included a song called 'Dear Ben'. 

"You're perfect / I just can't control myself / I can't be with no one else /It seems I'm addicted to the way you like to touch me / I don't think they understand /Why I love at your command," she sang on the song.

The album also produced hits such as 'All I Have' featuring LL Cool J and 'Jenny From The Block' featuring Styles P and Jadakiss. 

In January 2004 - 14 months after the album was released - Jen and Ben called off their engagement. They rekindled their romance in 2021 and got married in Las Vegas in July 2022

ALSO READ: Lira makes triumphant return to the stage after suffering stroke


'This Is Me... Now' also includes a song dedicated to Ben. Jennifer released the album's tracklist in November last year. 

1. This Is Me … Now
2. To Be Yours
3. Mad in Love
4. Can’t Get Enough
5. Rebound
6. not. going. anywhere.
7. Dear Ben pt. ll
8. Hummingbird
9. Hearts and Flowers
10. Broken Like Me
11. This Time Around
12. Midnight Trip to Vegas
13. Greatest Love Story Never Told

Jennifer's new album is due for release sometime in 2023. 

ALSO READ: VIDEO: Diana Ross surprises Beyoncé on her birthday

Main image credit: Instagram/@jlo

How to listen to East Coast Radio:

1.    Listen to East Coast Radio on the FM spectrum between 94 and 95 FM on your radio.

2.    Listen live to ECR by clicking here or download the ECR App (iOS/Android).

3.    Listen to East Coast Radio on the DStv audio bouquet

4.    Listen to us on Amazon Alexa

Find East Coast Radio on the following social media platforms: 




Show's Stories