Ciara recreates 'Goodies' album cover 20 years later

Ciara recreates 'Goodies' album cover 20 years later

Twenty years ago, Ciara burst onto the music scene with an album that produced hits such as 'Goodies' and '1, 2 Step'...

Ciara poses in the recording studio
Ciara/ Instagram (@ciara)

Ciara is celebrating a huge milestone in her music career. Her debut album, 'Goodies', is turning 20 in 2024. 

Ciara co-wrote several songs on the 13-track album, which produced hits such as '1, 2 Step' featuring Missy Elliott, 'And I', and 'Oh' ft. Ludacris.

The project's lead single, which was also called 'Goodies', was released on 8 June 2004. Ciara marked the date by recreating the album's cover art. 

"20 Years later. Still CiCi. Happy 20th Anniversary, Goodies!" she wrote. 

The 38-year-old remembers the day the single first hit the airwaves like it was yesterday.

"I’ll never forget this day I released my single Goodies. I had tears in my eyes as I was rolling through the drive-through. My dream was really coming true!" she said. 

ALSO READ: Feeling old? These songs turn 20 in 2024

Ciara Goodies 

The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) made a special announcement just in time for Ciara's 'Goodies' anniversary. 

The single, featuring Petey Pablo, was certified 3x platinum on June 7. Several other Ciara songs got certification updates. Here's a look at the new updates:

  • 2x Platinum: 'Oh' featuring Ludacris 
  • Gold: 'And I'
  • 5x Platinum: '1, 2 Step' featuring Missy Elliott

The RIAA also updated the 'Goodies' album, released on 28 September 2004, to 4x platinum.

Since her debut, Ciara has released six follow-up albums. She has worked with artists such as Summer Walker, Nicki Minaj, Chris Brown, and Lil Wayne. 

Ciara is now a mother of four. She shares three children with her husband, NFL player Russell Wilson - Sienna, Win, and Amora. 

The singer also shares a 10-year-old son with rapper Future. 

She will release a 20th-anniversary vinyl reissue of her 'Goodies' album. The reissue will not include 'Next To You', a song she recorded with R Kelly.

The 'Goodies' vinyl, which will be released on September 27, features three bonus tracks. 

ALSO READ: That's Amora! Ciara gives birth to a baby girl


1.     Listen to East Coast Radio on the FM (frequency modulation) spectrum between 94 and 95 FM on your radio.

2.     Listen live to ECR by clicking here or download the ECR App (iOS/Android).

3.     Listen to East Coast Radio on the DStv audio bouquet, channel 836. 

4.     Switch to the audio bouquet on your Openview decoder and browse to channel 606

5.     Listen to us on Amazon Alexa


Follow us on social media: 

· Facebook

· Twitter

· Instagram

· TikTok

· WhatsApp Channel



Main image credit: Instagram/ciara

Show's Stories