PSL draw sees Chiefs move to enemy territory

PSL draw sees Chiefs move to enemy territory

Following the confirmation earlier this week that the Absa Premiership would resume in the second week of August, the random draw on Wednesday saw Kaizer Chiefs draw rivals Orlando Pirates' home ground Orlando Stadium as their base for the season restart.

Kaizer Chiefs
Image courtesy: AFP

Two teams will share a ground in Gauteng, the province that was announced as the Bio-Bubble earlier in July, and Chiefs will use Orlando Stadium with Chippa United for the remainder of the season.

The KwaZulu-Natal based teams AmaZulu and Maritzburg City have been paired together at the Lucas Moripe Stadium while Golden Arrows and Orlando Pirates will call Ellis Park their home for their remaining games this season.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Highlands Park have been drawn to share the Dobsonville Stadium while Cape Town City and Polokwane City will use Loftus Versveld as their home ground.

The University of Pretoria will house Stellenbosch FC and Bloemfontein Celtic as Black Leopards and BidVest Wits share the FNB Stadium.

Wits will be slightly disappointed that they won't be playing at their home ground BidVest Stadium because that ground will be called home by SuperSport United and Baroka FC.

All games will be played behind closed doors with the first league fixtures set to take place on August 11.

Before the league can resume the Nedbank Cup semi-finals need to be completed and these will take place on the weekend of 8-9 August.

Should the games not be played at neuteral venues then Sundowns will host Wits at the Dobsonville Stadium and Baroka will take on Bloem Celtic at the BidVest Stadium.

Absa Premiership Teams & venues

AmaZulu – Lucas Moripe Stadium

Baroka FC – BidVest Stadium

BidVest Wits – FNB Stadium

Black Leopards – FNB Stadium

Bloemfontein Celtic – Tuks Stadium

Cape Town City – Loftus Versveld

Chippa United – Orlando Stadium

Highlands Park – Dobsonville Stadium

Kaizer Chiefs – Orlando Stadium

Lamontville Golden Arrows – Ellis Park

Mamelodi Sundowns – Dobsonville Stadium

Maritzburg United – Lucas Moripe Stadium

Orlando Pirates – Ellis Park

Polokwane City – Loftus Versveld

Stellenbosch FC – Tuks Stadium

SuperSport United – BidVest Stadium


Show's Stories