Four SABC board members resign

Four SABC board members resign

Four SABC board members have handed in their resignation. 

Stock image

President Cyril Ramaphosa's spokesperson, Khusela Diko, confirmed to the public broadcaster that Krish Naidoo, Khanyisile Kweyama, Joyhn Mattison and Mathatha Tsedu have handed in their letters of resignation and that the President has accepted them.

Former president, Jacob Zuma, appointed a new SABC board last October after the collapse of the previous board.

Diko says the President is concerned with the current situation at the SABC - especially in light of the looming retrenchments at the public broadcaster and that he's met with newly appointed Communications Minister, Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams - who will pronounce a way forward in due course.

Missed the latest Newswatch? Find more on this and other developing stories below.

Show's Stories