'Lunch' - Fans react to Billie Eilish's 'absolute bop of a song'

'Lunch' - Fans react to Billie Eilish's 'absolute bop of a song'

The 22-year-old singer is freaking out - in a good way - about her new album and music...

Billie Eilish on the cover of Variety magazine
Billie Eilish on the cover of Variety magazine/ Instagram (@variety/Photographed by Victoria Stevens)

Billie Eilish's new album, 'Hit Me Hard and Soft', is officially available on all streaming music platforms.

The singer released her third studio album and a new song, 'Lunch', on Friday, May 17. Billie worked on the album with her brother, Finneas O'Connell, who produced her previous two EPs. 

"I don’t even know what to SAAYY... @finneas and I put so much into this album and have never ever ever loved something more. We hope you enjoy it so much and i’ll see you on the other side. Eeeeeeeeeeeeek HMHAS out now everywhere. Love you all to deaaaaath!!!!".

Billie did not release any songs before the album's debut, which makes 'Lunch' her first single release.

"I wanna give it to you all at once," the 9x Grammy Award-winner said about the decision. 

"Finneas and I truly could not be more proud of this album and we absolutely can’t wait for you to hear it."

ALSO READ: Christina Aguilera makes major music move after 26 years


Billie Eilish new album

The 22-year-old's new album has 10 songs. It contains no guest artist features. 

Several publications, including Rolling Stone magazine, have described 'Hit Me Hard and Soft' as her "best album yet".

Variety magazine wrote: “Billie Eilish Keeps Up Her Winning Streak With the Surprising and Intimate ‘HIT ME HARD AND SOFT'." 

"The 10-track release sees a once-in-a-generation pop performer once again rewriting the rules," the Associated Press wrote. 

'Hit Me Hard and Soft' tracklist

1. Skinny
2. Lunch
3. Chihiro
4. Birds of a Feather
5. Wildflower
6. The Greatest
7. L'Amour de ma vie
8. The Diner
9. Bittersuite
10. Blue

Billie's fans are also in love with the album's lead single. 

She sings on 'Lunch''s steamy lyrics: "I could eat that girl for lunch /Yeah, she dances on my tongue /Tastes like she might be the one /And I could never get enough." Lyrics source: genius.com

One fan described 'Lunch' as "an absolute bop of a song". 

One fan commented on YouTube: "Billie I’m genuinely so proud of you…you honestly have gotten so far and this album was EVERYTHING... It’s like you’ve been watching me through my window daily and know exactly what to say to make me break in the best way possible. The emotion I felt listening to this is too many to count on my fingers and toes!"

Watch the lyric video for Billie's new song, 'Lunch', below:

Here's a look at what other Billie Eilish fans had to say:


1.     Listen to East Coast Radio on the FM (frequency modulation) spectrum between 94 and 95 FM on your radio.

2.     Listen live to ECR by clicking here or download the ECR App (iOS/Android).

3.     Listen to East Coast Radio on the DStv audio bouquet, channel 836. 

4.     Switch to the audio bouquet on your Openview decoder and browse to channel 606

5.     Listen to us on Amazon Alexa


Follow us on social media: 

· Facebook

· Twitter

· Instagram

· TikTok

· WhatsApp Channel


Main image credit: Instagram/

Show's Stories